Honor Band

The 32nd Annual North Area Honor Band was held Saturday, December 2, 2023 at 4PM at the Johnson Fine Arts Center at Northern State University.  Milbank was represented by 20 band members.  The students were under the direction of Dr. Terry Beckler.

Songs performed included:
Cajun Folk Songs by Frank Ticheli
Cenotaph (Fanfare for Band) by Jack Stamp
The Clapping Song by Randall D. Standridge
Down a Country Lane by Aaron Copeland, arr. Merlin Patterson
The Glory of the Yankee Navy by John Philip Sousa; Edited by Fennell
Solas Ane (Gaelic: Yesterday's Joy) by Samuel R. Hazo
Tarantella by Carol Brittin Chambers

Accompanying the students to the event were Susan Karels-MS/HS Milbank Band Director and Deborah Rausch-MS/HS Band Lesson Assistant.  Many friends and families were able to attend the finale concert.

Pictured are:
Front Row:  Ruth Luis Gomez (junior flute): Gemma Street (junior trumpet): Camryn Sovell (sophomore trumpet): Krista Nies (sophomore trumpet): Hope Karels (senior bass clarinet): Brooke Mumbauer (senior flute): Isabella Vogel (senior flute)

Second Row:  Mrs. Karels: Yanderyn Olivares Zuniga (sophomore alto sax): Rachel Schulte (senior clarinet): Kalli Grong (sophomore flute): Katie Kruger (junior alto sax): Sophia Whitlow (senior clarinet)

Back Row:  Alex DeLaRosa (junior bass clarinet): Shane Spiering (junior bari sax): Sam Shelstad (freshman tuba): Joe Schulte (senior euphonium): Connor Wiik (senior trumpet): Jack terDenge (freshman french horn): Charles Whitesitt (junior trombone): Carlos Olivares Zuniga (junior clarinet)